! Tips

Contact CSA - The Canadian Securities Administrators have compiled many resources to help educate the public on frauds and scams. Go to www.securities-administrators.ca to find some of these resources.

Don't give out your personal information - Banks, credit card companies and other legitimate businesses will never ask you to provide personal information via e-mail. If you get an e-mail that appears to be from your financial institution asking you for confidential information, do not click on any links provided and do not give out any information.

Install anti-virus software, a firewall, and anti-spyware software - These programs can prevent fraudsters from hacking into your computer to steal your information.

online safety

Young people are often the targets of scams and fraud, especially online. You and your child need to be aware of the different types of frauds and scams that are out there, so you can take precautionary measures, stay safe and protect your money.

it Activities

Make a checklist

The Internet is a quick and easy way for scam artists to find potential victims for their investment schemes. In this environment, fraudsters can operate anonymously from anywhere in the world, which makes them almost impossible to catch. Once you've given your money to an online scam artist, it's likely gone for good. Sit down with your child and talk about safety and the Internet. When you are at the computer together, open your e-mail account and go through some of the following questions with a few of your messages.

Before opening an e-mail, answer these questions:

  • Do I know the person sending me this attachment by e-mail? Be aware that it is possible to fake the address an e-mail has come from, so if you weren't expecting an attachment from the sender, check with them before opening it.
  • Do I know this company and where they are located?
  • Is there a padlock or padlock and keys icon?
  • Does the website address begin with https - not just http?
  • Did I contact the company, or did they contact me?
  • If the company contacted me, do I know they are who they say they are?

! Conseils

Ne divulguez pas vos renseignements personnels - Les banques, les sociétés émettrices de cartes de crédit et d’autres entreprises légitimes ne vous demandent jamais de fournir des renseignements personnels par courriel. Si vous recevez un courriel qui semble provenir de votre institution financière et qui demande des renseignements confidentiels, ne cliquez sur aucun lien et ne communiquez aucun renseignement.

Installez un antivirus, un pare-feu et un logiciel anti-espion - Ces programmes peuvent empêcher les fraudeurs de pirater votre ordinateur afin de voler vos renseignements personnels.

sécurité en ligne

Les jeunes sont souvent la cible d’escroqueries et de fraudes, surtout en ligne. Vous et votre enfant devez être conscients des divers genres d’escroqueries et de fraudes qui existent afin d’adopter des mesures préventives, d’assurer votre sécurité et de protéger votre argent.

it Activité


Dressez une liste de vérification

L’Internet offre aux escrocs un moyen facile et rapide de trouver des victimes potentielles pour leurs manœuvres de placement frauduleuses. Dans un tel environnement, les fraudeurs peuvent agir de manière anonyme partout sur la planète, ce qui rend leur capture presque impossible. Une fois que vous aurez donné de l’argent à un fraudeur en ligne, vous ne pourrez probablement pas le récupérer. Discutez d’Internet et de la sécurité avec votre enfant. Assoyez-vous tous les deux devant l’ordinateur, ouvrez votre compte de courriel et répondez à quelques-unes des questions qui suivent par rapport à certains messages.

Avant d’ouvrir un courriel, posez-vous les questions suivantes :

  • Est-ce que je connais la personne qui m’envoie un fichier joint? N’oubliez pas qu’il est possible de truquer l’adresse d’origine du courriel. Aussi, si vous n’attendez pas de fichier de l’expéditeur, consultez ce dernier avant de l’ouvrir le fichier.
  • Est-ce que je connais l’entreprise et le lieu où elle se trouve?
  • Est-ce qu’il y a une icône représentant un cadenas ou un cadenas et des clés?
  • Est-ce que l’adresse du site Web commence par « https » et pas seulement par « http »?
  • Ai-je communiqué avec l’entreprise ou a-t-elle communiqué avec moi?
  • Si l’entreprise a communiqué avec moi, est-ce que je sais si elle est ce qu’elle prétend être?